Tasks screen (Modern)

Lets you view and manage the tasks that are assigned to you in Modern Work Center.

You can also view and manage the tasks that are assigned to your team, department, or group.

Figure: Tasks screen

Tasks screen

Prerequisites

Good to Know

  • This topic applies to Modern Work Center. For Classic Work Center, refer to Tasks (Classic).

How to Start

  1. Click Work Center.

    Click Work Center
  2. In the left pane, click Inbox > Tasks.

    Click Inbox Tasks

Fields

Field Name Definition

View

Function:
Configures the tasks to show.
Accepted Values:
  • All Tasks - Shows all the tasks for all users in your tenant.

    The tasks that show in the All Tasks view depends upon various settings. It shows a combination of the tasks that show in the My Tasks, My Direct Team, My Direct Team and Sub, My Department, My Groups, and My Group Peers views. However, if you are a member of an Administrator role, the All Tasks view also shows the tasks for users that are not related to you in any other view.

  • My Tasks - Shows the tasks where you are a participant, either as an individual user, a group member, or a member of a role..
  • My Direct Team - Shows your tasks, and the tasks for any users for whom you are listed as the manager.

    Tasks show in the My Direct Team view because your name is specified in the Manager field on a user's profile in the Manage Center. For more information, refer to Edit Profile > Basic Information tab.

  • My Department - Shows your tasks and the tasks for all the users in your department.

    Tasks show in the My Department view because the value of the Department field in your user profile in the Manage Center is the same as the value of the Department field in another user's profile For more information, refer to Edit Profile > Basic Information tab.

  • My Team And Subteams - Shows tasks for you, the members of your direct team, and the members of their direct teams. This is typically used by higher level managers.

    Tasks show in the My Team And Sub view because either your name is specified in the Manager field on a user's profile, or you are the manager of the user's manager. You can change the value of the Manager field in the Manage Center. For more information, refer to Edit Profile > Basic Information tab.

  • My Group - Shows your tasks and the tasks for all members of all groups for which you are the group lead.

    Tasks show in My Groups because a user is a member of a group where your name specified in the Group Lead field. You can change the members of a group or change the group lead in Manage Center. For more information, refer to Edit Group > Basic Information tab.

  • My Group Peers - Shows your tasks and the tasks for all members of all groups for which you are a member.

    Tasks show in the My Group Peers view because you are a member of a group with another user. You can add users to groups in the Manage Center. For more information, refer to Add Group screen.

Default Value:
My Tasks

Group By

Function:
Specifies how to sort the tasks.
Accepted Values:
  • Status - Sorts the tasks based on the status.
  • Priority - Sorts the tasks based on the priority order.
  • Process - Sorts the tasks based on the processes.
Default Value:
Status

Grid View

Function:
Specifies whether to show the tasks in a grid view.
Accepted Values:
  • On - Shows the tasks in a grid view.
  • Off - Shows the tasks in a card view.
Default Value:
Off

Search By

Function:
Specifies the creteria to search the tasks.
Accepted Values:
  • Task Name - Does a search of the tasks based on the task name.
  • Process Name - Does a search of the tasks based on the process model name.
Default Value:
None

Priority

Function:
Specifies the importance of a task.
To Open this Field:
  1. In the task, click Edit Edit Process icon.
Accepted Values:
  • Normal - Specifies a normal priority task.
  • Low - Specifies a low priority task.
  • High - Specifies a high priority task.
Default Value:
None

Actions

Function:
Specifies an operation to perform on an assigned task.
Accepted Values:
  • View Process View Process icon - Opens the process in the Process Viewer.
  • Open Task Open Task icon - Opens the form or view for the selected task.
  • Reassign Task Reassign Task icon - You or any user from your tenant can reassign the task to a different user.
  • Cancel Process Cancel Process icon - Cancels the process.
  • Rework Task Rework icon - Starts a partial rework of a task that is complete.
  • Task Details Task Details icon - Shows the details of the task.
  • Create Linked Work ItemCreate Linked Task icon - Creates tasks for other participants as necessary.
  • Cancel Task Cancel Task icon - Cancels the task.
  • Add To Watchlist Add To Watchlist icon - Adds the task to a watchlist.
  • Add To Planner Add To Planner icon - Adds the task to a planner.
Default Value:
None

Status

Function:
Shows the status of the task.
Accepted Values:
Read only

Task Name

Function:
Shows the name of the task.
Accepted Values:
Read only.

Process Instance Name

Function:
Shows the process instance name
Accepted Values:
Read only.

Assigned

Function:
Shows the date or the number of days or hours the task was assigned to the participant.
Accepted Values:
Read only.

Overdue

Function:
Shows the date the task is due to be completed or the number of days or hours the task is not completed from the time it is configured to complete.
Accepted Values:
Read only.

Process Model

Function:
Shows the name of the process model.
To Open this Field:
  1. Turn on the Grid View field.
Accepted Values:
Read only.

Assigned Date

Function:
Shows the date-time the task was assigned to the participant.
To Open this Field:
  1. Turn on the Grid View field.
Accepted Values:
Read only.

Due Date

Function:
Shows the date-time the task is due to be completed.
To Open this Field:
  1. Turn on the Grid View field.
Accepted Values:
Read only.
Refresh Refresh icon
Function:
Shows a new view of the screen content, with new changes.